2018 Gala

The New York City Police Foundation hosted its Annual Gala on May 17, 2018 at Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers, where the Foundation and Police Commissioner James O’Neill honored Mark Kingdon, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Kingdon Capital Management, and recognized members of the NYPD who have served with distinction.

1,000 of New York City’s business, civic, and cultural leaders attended the event which raised more than $4.5 million, a new record high.

“Public safety is a shared responsibility, and we are so honored that 1,000 New Yorkers came out tonight. Their generosity allows the Police Foundation to continue to invest in crime-fighting initiatives that keep New York City safe and also support the brave men and women of the NYPD,” said Susan Birnbaum, President & CEO. “In order for New York City to remain the safest large city in the world, we must make every effort to equip our police department with the tools they need to keep crime at a record low.”

NFL legend and sports journalist Boomer Esiason hosted the event whose guests included Margo & John Catsimatidis, Ann & Andrew Tisch, Elizabeth & Dale Hemmerdinger, Rikki Klieman & William Bratton, Brett Yormark, Bill Rudin, Somers Farkas, Daryl & Steven Roth, Ray McGuire, Jonathan Schiller, Scott Wilpon, and Kathryn Wylde.

The Foundation and Commissioner O’Neill presented the Chuck Barris Foundation “Cop of the Year” Award to Police Officer Ryan Nash. The Hemmerdinger Award for Excellence for distinguished public service was presented to Lieutenant John Miedreich, Sergeant Johnny Hines, Deputy Chief Thomas Burns, Detective Tanya Duhaney, Detective Fred Washington, and Director Yael Bar-tur.

Special thanks to our event Co-Chairs:

H. Dale Hemmerdinger, The Hemmerdinger Corporation
21st Century Fox
Bank of America
Simon Bergson, Manhattan Beer Distributors
Beth Rudin DeWoody, May & Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, Inc.
Martin L. Edelman
Abby Elbaum, Ogden CAP Properties, LLC
Empire State Realty Trust
Laurence Fink, BlackRock
Mario Gabelli, Gabelli Funds
Caroline & James Gertler
Eric J. Gertler
John Greed, Mutual of America
Maurice R. Greenberg, The Starr Foundation
Philippe Laffont
Thomas H. Lee
The Margaret & Daniel Loeb – Third Point Foundation
Stephen J. Meringoff, Meringoff Properties, Inc.
Edward D. Miller
Jennifer & David Millstone
Philip L. Milstein, Ogden CAP Properties, LLC
National Debt Relief LLC
Greg Olsen
Karen & Charles Phillips
Adam R. Rose & Peter R. McQuillan
The Rudin Foundation, Inc.
Joseph C. Shenker, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
The Paul E. Singer Foundation
Stavros Niarchos Foundation
Ann & Andrew Tisch
Robert S. Tucker
Annelise Peterson Winter & David S. Winter
Benjamin J. Winter, The Winter Organization
Kazumi Yanai, UNIQLO
Mortimer B. Zuckerman