2019 Gala

The New York City Police Foundation hosted its Annual Gala on April 30, 2019 at the New York Hilton Midtown where it welcomed Honorary Chairman Police Commissioner James P. O’Neill and honored James Gorman, Chairman and CEO of Morgan Stanley, and members of the NYPD who have served with distinction.

Over 1,200 of New York City’s business, civic, and cultural leaders attended the event which raised more than $5.5 million, a new record high.

“We’re here to highlight the innovative programs the New York City Police Foundation has supported in the name of public- and police-officer safety, and everything the Foundation continues to do to help maintain the NYPD’s position at the forefront of American policing,” said Commissioner O’Neill from the podium. “For nearly 50 years, the Police Foundation has understood that when we all work together, we can all make a safer city.”

The event was co-hosted by Boomer Esiason and Gregg Giannotti of WFAN’s “Boomer & Gio” Morning Show.

The Foundation and Commissioner O’Neill presented the Chuck Barris Foundation “Cop of the Year” Award to Detective Dalsh Veve. The Hemmerdinger Award for Excellence for distinguished public service was presented to Detective Jason Anazagasty, Lieutenant Quathisa Epps , Sergeant Damon Martin, Detective Rosemarie Muckenthaler, and Police Officer Syed Ali.

Special Thanks to Gala Chairs

Andy Saperstein
Co-Head of Wealth Management
Morgan Stanley

Susie Huang
Global Co-Head of Investment Banking
Vice Chairman, Managing Director
Morgan Stanley

And to Event Co-Chairs

Ann & Andrew H. Tisch

Bank of America
Simon Bergson, Manhattan Beer Distributors
BNY Mellon
Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP
Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP
Ivan D. Deutsch, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
Martin L. Edelman
Abby Elbaum, Ogden CAP Properties, LLC
Empire State Realty Trust
Laurence Fink, BlackRock
Fox Corporation
Mario Gabelli, Gabelli Funds
Caroline & James Gertler
Eric Gertler
Goldman Sachs Asset Management
Jon Gray, Blackstone
John Greed, Mutual of America
Maurice R. Greenberg, The Starr Foundation
H. Dale Hemmerdinger, The Hemmerdinger Corporation
Edward D. Herlihy, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Robert S. Kapito, BlackRock
Mark and Anla Cheng Kingdon Foundation
Philippe Laffont
Thomas H. Lee

McKinsey & Company
Stephen J. Meringoff, Meringoff Properties, Inc.
Edward D. Miller
Jennifer & David Millstone
Ajay Nagpal, Millennium Management
Stavros Niarchos Foundation
Greg Olsen
Paramount Group, Inc.
Karen & Charles Phillips
Adam R. Rose & Peter R. McQuillan
Daryl & Steven Roth
The Rudin Foundation, Inc.
Fiona & Eric Rudin
May & Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, Inc.
RXR Realty LLC
Joseph C. Shenker, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
The Paul E. Singer Foundation
Jerry Speyer
Owen D. Thomas, Boston Properties
Tishman Speyer
Robert S. Tucker
Ed Walson, Service Electric Broadband Cable TV of NJ
Annelise Peterson Winter & David S. Winter
Benjamin J. Winter, The Winter Organization
Elizabeth Heyman Winter
Kazumi Yanai, UNIQLO
Mortimer B. Zuckerman